Charges of driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license usually result from a traffic stop. A routine check of your driver’s license will reveal the suspension or revocation. In some cases, people are not even aware that their driver’s license has been suspended. Simply forgetting to renew your driver’s license or failing to pay a Maryland traffic ticket can result in a suspension.
Most people don’t realize that a Driving on revoked or Suspended License carries with it a potential sixty (60) day or twelve (12) month jail sentence and a fine. Multiple offenses can easily result in a conviction and jail if the case is not handled properly.
Just as important is the fact that having a traffic/criminal conviction on your record can severely limit employment possibilities.
Protecting Your Driving Privileges in Baltimore, Maryland
In today’s society, it’s difficult to get by without driving. As a result, many people who lose their driver’s license due to a Maryland DUI arrest or multiple traffic tickets choose to drive anyway. In Maryland, that can lead to criminal charges and an even longer suspension.
With offices in Baltimore in Arbutus and Catonsville, MD, call today to discuss your case with a qualified attorney.
Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a criminal misdemeanor traffic offense. Let us put our expeirence to work for you and help you protect your driving record.
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
Driving with a license that is suspended as a result of one of the following violations is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum penalty of $500 and/or two months imprisonment:
- driving with a lapse in required security (generally, auto insurance) for a vehicle;
- failing to comply with a State traffic citation (including a notice to appear in court);
- failing to comply with a notice to appear in court under a federal traffic citation or a citation issued by another state; or
- failing to pay a fine under the Maryland Vehicle Law, a federal traffic law, or the traffic laws of another state.
Additionally, a violation for driving without a license is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum penalty of $500 and/or 60 days imprisonment for a first offense and $500 and/or one-year imprisonment for a second or subsequent offense.
A violation of most provisions of the Maryland Vehicle Law is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of $500 and no incarceration penalty.
Lawyers for Driving on a Suspended License in Baltimore, MD
Our attorneys are focused on criminal driving offenses in Baltimore and Annapolis in the State of Maryland.
For the past 20 years lawyers at James E. Crawford, Jr. & Associates have defended people facing legal trouble in Baltimore, Catonsville, Annapolis, Bel Air and throughout Maryland.
My goal is to prevent a mistake from resulting in a criminal record that will follow you around for the rest of your life. The first step in resolving these charges is to deal with the issue that led to your driver’s license suspension or revocation in the first place. We work hard to help you get your full driving privileges reinstated as quickly as possible.
To protect your driving privileges, contact me, James Crawford, to discuss your case. Our phones are answered 24 hours a day, seven days a week. To contact me, call 443-709-9999. I offer a free initial consultation.