Call Today 443.720.7419
Protect yourself against underage drinking charges in Maryland

Protect yourself against underage drinking charges in Maryland

You’re young, and going to parties or hanging out with older friends can be a lot of fun. Unfortunately, if you’re drinking and you’re underage, you’ve put yourself at risk. There are few cases where a minor drinking alcohol won’t be pursued by the authorities. If you’re caught with even trace amounts of alcohol in your blood, you could be in a lot of trouble with the law.

If you’re stopped and a breathalyzer shows you’ve been drinking, you could be arrested on the spot. It’s illegal for those under 21 to possess or drink alcohol in Maryland. You can have a blood alcohol content level of up to 0.02 percent before you can get in trouble, but if you register above that amount, then you can be charged with underage drinking.

If you’ve been driving and are stopped with a BAC of 0.02 or higher, you can be charged with a DUI. For minors, 0.02 percent is illegal, even though the legal limit for adults is 0.08 percent. In this situation, you can be charged, and possibly convicted, of drunk driving.

You don’t need to be intimidated when you come into contact with the police. You don’t need to admit to drinking to an officer, because doing so may lead to criminal charges that could stay on your record for a lifetime. You don’t have to answer questions or provide incriminating information to the police without a lawyer present. Our website has more information on what you can do in this situation and what you can do if you’ve been charged with a DUI or underage drinking.

Contact Law Offices of James E. Crawford, Jr. & Associates!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.