How do I fight a driver's license suspension?

How do I fight a driver's license suspension?

Your driver’s license can be suspended for a few different reasons in Maryland, including failing a breath test or refusing to take one. Once it is gone, what can you do to fight it and get your license back?

Your best option is to ask for a hearing. You have a legal right to do this, and it gives you a chance to show why your license should not have been taken away and why it should be returned to you.

You can also use the hearing if you want to modify the suspension—having the time reduced, for instance—or if you want to show that legal mistakes were made by the other side during the process, meaning you shouldn’t have lost your license.

You do have to pay a fee to ask for a hearing, and you have to send it and your request to the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings.

The timing is very important. If you put in the hearing request during the first 10 days after the suspension was handed out, you are then going to get a hearing within the next 30 days. Additionally, the suspension will be lifted until the hearing.

However, if you wait until after 10 days but before 30 days from the suspension, you will get a hearing that happens within 45 days of your making the request. If you wait for more than 30 days, you are not going to get a hearing under any circumstances, regardless of the evidence.

As you can see, your best option to fight the suspension is to do so quickly, so you must know all about the legal process.

Contact Law Offices of James E. Crawford, Jr. and Associates!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.