Estimates for deadly DUI charges examined

Estimates for deadly DUI charges examined

When caught for drunk driving alone, the penalties may not be that stiff. They differ depending on many different factors, such as how many similar charges you may have on your record. However, the charges can get to be more harsh if you are also involved in an accident, and they go up even higher if someone else is killed in that accident.

These laws are not mandated by the federal government, but work on a state-by-state basis. According to Mothers Against Drunk Drivers, or MADD, the approximate sentence that one would get for a deadly DUI crash in Maryland ranges from zero to five years. This is an estimate, so sentences have been given out that do not fall into this range, but it still gives you a rough idea of what is expected.

As you can see by looking at some of the other states, the penalties in Maryland actually are not that harsh. For example, if the same thing happened in Indiana, the estimated charges range from 2 to 20 years. In Washington D.C., the low end is still zero years, but the charges could range all the way up to 30 years. Some of the harshest laws in the country are in Tennessee, where the range starts at eight years and goes all the way up to 60 years.

Not only do you want to know what charges you could face after a DUI crash, but you need to know what legal options you have, and we hope you’ll check out our page to learn more about them today.

Contact Law Offices of James E. Crawford, Jr. and Associates!

All Consultations are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.