According to Maryland law, sex offenders must register with local or state authorities if they are going to attend school, work or live in Maryland. This must happen when they are released from incarceration. Every year after that, they must register again. In addition, if they move, they must register again.
There are four categories of classification of sex offenders in Maryland on the Sex Offender Registry. These are:
— Sexually violent predators
— Sexually violent offenders
— child sexual offenders
In most cases, an offender falls into the first three categories. They must register for life. Should an offender fall into the fourth category, he or she must register for 10 years.
The registration statement that an offender must complete includes the offender’s:
— A description of the crime he or she was convicted of
— When and where the crime was committed, convicted and eventually released
— Social Security number
— Works or attends school. This is a requirement for offenders who do not live in Maryland.
The types of crimes that an offender may have been convicted are many. They include:
— 1st or 2nd degree rape
— 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th degree sexual offense
A child sexual offender is someone who has been convicted of any sexually violent offense or a 4th degree sexual offense with someone under 15 years old.
As you can see, inclusion on the Maryland Sex Offender Registry can make life very difficult for offenders. They can be ostracized, harassed, branded or shamed. Not only is this against the law, but it will decrease the chances that an offender will be able to successfully integrate back into the community.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you learn more about the registry in Maryland and what may be done to keep your name off of it.
Source: Maryland Attorney General, “Understanding and Using The Sex Offender Registry,” accessed Nov. 24, 2015